Performance highlights

The year was characterized by strong volume performance in the upstream, with Kearl’s gross production in excess of 200,000 barrels per day for the second year in a row and Syncrude’s highest annual production in nearly a decade. In the downstream, refinery throughput and petroleum product sales were impacted by significant planned turnaround activities and the fractionation tower incident at Sarnia.

Article

In this article

Performance highlights

Brad Corson's remarks

2019 was a year of significant change for the industry in which we operate. Against this backdrop, Imperial’s results demonstrate the strength and resilience of the company’s balanced and integrated business model, with cash generated from operating activities totaling $4.4 billion for 2019, the highest in over five years.

Recent investments in growth, reliability, and cost and margin improvement provide a strong foundation for Imperial to continue to grow dividends and deliver value to our shareholders. I am excited for the opportunity to build upon Imperial’s strengths and lead the company into the new decade.

Brad Corson
Chairman, president and chief executive officer

2019 highlights

 

 
Full-year earnings and cash flow
  • Net income of $2,200 million, compared to net income of $2,314 million in 2018.
  • Net income per share on a diluted basis was $2.88, up from net income per share of $2.86 in 2018.
  • Cash flow generated from operating activities was $4,429 million, up from $3,922 million in 2018.
Shareholder return
Returned over $2 billion to shareholders through share purchases and dividends. Per share dividends declared during the year totalled $0.85, up from $0.73 per share in 2018.
Capital and exploration expenditures
Capital and exploration expenditures totalled $1,814 million. In 2020, capital and exploration expenditures are expected to range between $1.6 billion to $1.7 billion.
Upstream performance

Overall upstream gross oil-equivalent production averaged 398,000 barrels per day in 2019, with total liquids production of 374,000 barrels per day for the year, each at their highest levels in over 25 years. Kearl’s total gross production for 2019 averaged 205,000 barrels per day.

Consistent with plans, Kearl’s supplemental crushing facilities became operational and are expected to further improve reliability, reduce planned downtime, lower unit costs and enable the asset to achieve 240,000 barrels per day of total gross production in 2020.

Downstream perfomance
In 2019, refinery throughput averaged 353,000 barrels per day, with petroleum product sales of 475,000 barrels per day. Throughout the year, refinery utilization rates and sales were impacted by significant planned turnaround activities at the Nanticoke and Sarnia refineries, and by the fractionation tower incident at Sarnia. The new tower was commissioned in December.

Financial & operating

2019 financial & operating information is available in Imperial's 2019 financial and operating results.

Cautionary statement: Statements of future events or conditions in this report, including projections, targets, expectations, estimates, and business plans are forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements can be identified by words such as believe, anticipate, intend, propose, plan, goal, seek, project, predict, target, estimate, expect, strategy, outlook, schedule, future, continue, likely, may, should, will and similar references to future periods. Forward-looking statements in this report include, but are not limited to, references to recent investments providing a strong foundation for dividend growth and delivering value; expected capital and exploration expenditures for 2020; and Kearl production outlook and the impact from supplemental crushing facilities.

Forward-looking statements are based on the company's current expectations, estimates, projections and assumptions at the time the statements are made. Actual future financial and operating results, including expectations and assumptions concerning demand growth and energy source, supply and mix; commodity prices, foreign exchange rates and general market conditions; production rates, growth and mix; project plans, timing, costs, technical evaluations and capacities, and the company’s ability to effectively execute on these plans and operate its assets; cost savings; the adoption and impact of new facilities or technologies, including on capital efficiency and production and reductions to greenhouse gas emissions intensity; applicable laws and government policies, including taxation, climate change and production curtailment; financing sources and capital structure; and capital and environmental expenditures could differ materially depending on a number of factors. These factors include global, regional or local changes in supply and demand for oil, natural gas, and petroleum and petrochemical products and resulting price, differential and margin impacts; general economic conditions; transportation for accessing markets; political or regulatory events, including changes in law or government policy, applicable royalty rates, tax laws and production curtailment; the receipt, in a timely manner, of regulatory and third-party approvals; environmental risks inherent in oil and gas exploration and production activities; environmental regulation, including climate change and greenhouse gas regulation and changes to such regulation; currency exchange rates; availability and allocation of capital; unanticipated technical or operational difficulties; management effectiveness; project management and schedules and timely completion of projects; unexpected technological developments; the results of research programs and new technologies, and ability to bring new technologies to commercial scale on a cost-competitive basis; operational hazards and risks; cybersecurity incidents; the ability to develop or acquire additional reserves; and other factors discussed in Item 1A risk factors and Item 7 management’s discussion and analysis of financial condition and results of operations of the company’s most recent annual report on Form 10-K.

Forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance and involve a number of risks and uncertainties, some that are similar to other oil and gas companies and some that are unique to Imperial Oil Limited. Imperial’s actual results may differ materially from those expressed or implied by its forward-looking statements and readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on them. Imperial undertakes no obligation to update any forward-looking statements contained herein, except as required by applicable law.

Faits saillants

L’année a été caractérisée par de fortes performances en volume du secteur amont, notamment une production brute à Kearl supérieure à 200 000 barils par jour pour la deuxième année consécutive et la production annuelle la plus élevée à Syncrude depuis près d’une décennie. Dans le secteur aval, le débit des raffineries et les ventes de produits pétroliers ont été touchés par d’importantes activités de révision planifiée et par l’incident de la tour de fractionnement de Sarnia.

Article

DANS CET ARTICLE

Faits saillants

Remarques de Brad Corson

L’année 2019 a donné lieu à d’importants changements pour notre industrie. Dans ce contexte, les résultats de l’Impériale démontrent la force et la résilience du modèle d’affaires équilibré et intégré de la compagnie, les liquidités générées par les activités d’exploitation totalisant 4,4 milliards de dollars pour 2019, soit le montant le plus élevé en plus de cinq ans.

Les récents investissements dans la croissance, la fiabilité et l’amélioration des coûts et des marges constituent une base solide pour que l’Impériale continue à augmenter ses dividendes et à optimiser la valeur apportée à nos actionnaires. Je suis enchanté par la possibilité de tirer parti des atouts de l’Impériale et de guider la compagnie vers la nouvelle décennie.

Brad Corson
Président du conseil d’administration, président et chef de la direction

Faits saillants en 2019

Bénéfice et flux de trésorerie pour l’ensemble de l’exercice
  • Le bénéfice net s’est élevé à 2 200 millions de dollars, comparativement à 2 314 millions de dollars en 2018.
  • Le bénéfice net par action sur une base diluée a été de 2,88 dollars, une hausse par rapport au bénéfice net par action ordinaire de 2,86 dollars en 2018.
  • Les flux de trésorerie générés par les activités d’exploitation se sont élevés à 4 429 millions de dollars, contre 3 922 millions de dollars en 2018.
Retour de l'actionnaire
Plus de 2 milliards de dollars ont été versés aux actionnaires sous la forme d’achats d’actions et de dividendes. Le dividende par action déclaré depuis le début de l’exercice a totalisé 0,85 dollar, en hausse par rapport à 0,73 dollar par action en 2018.
Les dépenses en immobilisations et frais d’exploration

Les dépenses en immobilisations et frais d’exploration ont totalisé 1 814 millions de dollars. En 2020, les dépenses en immobilisations et frais d’exploration devraient se situer entre 1,6 milliard de dollars et 1,7 milliard de dollars.

Performances en amont

En 2019, la production brute d’équivalent pétrole en amont s’est élevée en moyenne à 398 000 barils par jour, avec une production totale de liquides de 374 000 barils par jour pour l’année, chacune atteignant son niveau le plus élevé depuis plus de 25 ans. La production brute totale à Kearl pour 2019 était en moyenne de 205 000 barils par jour.

Conformément aux plans, des installations de concassage supplémentaires ont été mises en service à Kearl et devraient améliorer encore plus la fiabilité, réduire les temps d’arrêt prévus, abaisser les coûts unitaires et permettre à l’actif d’atteindre 240 000 barils par jour de production brute totale en 2020.

Performance en aval

En 2019, le débit moyen des raffineries a été de 353 000 barils par jour, les ventes de produits pétroliers se montant à 475 000 barils par jour. Tout au long de l’année, les taux d’utilisation de la capacité de raffinage et les ventes ont été touchés par les importantes activités de révision planifiée aux raffineries de Nanticoke et de Sarnia, et par l’incident de la tour de fractionnement de Sarnia. La nouvelle tour a été mise en service en décembre.

Résultats financiers et opérationnels

Disponible ici: L’Impériale communique ses résultats financiers et d’exploitation 2019.

Mise en garde : Les énoncés contenus dans le présent rapport qui sont liés à des situations ou des événements futurs, y compris les prévisions, les objectifs, les attentes, les estimations et les plans d’affaires sont des énoncés prospectifs. Les énoncés prospectifs peuvent être identifiés par l’emploi de tournures utilisant certains mots, notamment : croit, anticipe, entend, propose, planifie, but, recherche, projette, présage, cible, évalue, prévoit, stratégie, perspective, compte, futur, continue, probable, peut, doit, aspire et autres références semblables à des périodes futures. Les énoncés prospectifs contenus dans ce rapport comprennent, sans s’y limiter, des références à des investissements récents soutenant une solide croissance des dividendes et créant de la valeur; aux dépenses en immobilisations et aux frais d’exploration pour 2020; et aux perspectives de production et à l’incidence des installations de concassage supplémentaires de Kearl.

Les déclarations prospectives sont fondées sur les prévisions actuelles de la compagnie, ses estimations, ses projections et ses hypothèses émises au moment de la déclaration. Les résultats financiers et d’exploitation réels qui seront obtenus, notamment les attentes et les hypothèses portant sur la croissance de la demande et les sources d’énergie, sur l’approvisionnement et la répartition des sources; sur le prix des marchandises, les taux de change et les conditions générales du marché; sur les taux de production, la croissance et la répartition; sur les plans des projets, les calendriers, les coûts, les évaluations et les capacités techniques, et sur la capacité qu’a la compagnie de réaliser ces plans et d’exploiter ses actifs efficacement; sur les économies de coûts; sur l’adoption et l’incidence de nouvelles installations ou technologies, notamment à l’égard de l’efficacité du capital et de la production et de la réduction de l’intensité des gaz à effet de serre; sur les lois qui sont applicables et les politiques gouvernementales, notamment en matière de fiscalité, de changements climatiques et de réduction de la production; sur les sources de financement et la structure des capitaux; et sur les dépenses environnementales et en capital peuvent être sensiblement différents selon un certain nombre de facteurs. Ces facteurs comprennent les variations mondiales, régionales et locales de l’offre et de la demande de pétrole, de gaz naturel et de produits pétroliers et pétrochimiques ainsi que leurs effets sur les prix, l’écart et la marge; les conditions générales de l’économie; le transport pour l’accès aux marchés; les événements politiques ou l’évolution de la réglementation, y compris les changements apportés à la législation ou à la politique gouvernementale, aux taux de redevance applicables, aux lois fiscales et aux obligations de réduction de la production; l’obtention, en temps opportun, de l’approbation des organismes tiers et de réglementation; les risques environnementaux inhérents aux activités d’exploration et de production pétrolières et gazières; la réglementation relative à l’environnement, y compris les règlements et les changements apportés à ces règlements qui sont liés aux changements climatiques et aux émissions de gaz à effet de serre; les taux de change; la disponibilité et la répartition de capitaux; les difficultés techniques ou opérationnelles imprévues; l’efficacité de la direction; la gestion et les calendriers des projets et leur achèvement dans les délais prévus; les développements technologiques imprévus; les résultats des programmes de recherche et des nouvelles technologies, et la capacité de déployer de nouvelles technologies à une échelle commerciale à un coût concurrentiel; les dangers et les risques opérationnels; les incidents de cybersécurité; la capacité de mettre en valeur et d’acquérir des réserves supplémentaires; et d’autres facteurs analysés sous l’élément 1A « Facteurs de risques » et l’élément 7 « Rapport de gestion » du rapport annuel le plus récent de la compagnie sur le formulaire 10-K.

Les énoncés prospectifs ne garantissent pas le rendement futur et comportent un certain nombre de risques et d’incertitudes, dont certains sont similaires à ceux d’autres sociétés pétrolières et gazières et d’autres sont exclusifs à la Pétrolière Impériale Ltée. Les résultats réels de L’Impériale pourraient différer considérablement des résultats implicites ou explicites selon les énoncés prospectifs, et les lecteurs sont priés de ne pas s’y fier aveuglément. L’Impériale ne s’engage aucunement à publier une mise à jour des énoncés prospectifs fournis aux présentes, sauf si la loi l’exige.

Contenu associé

Dates importantes

Apprenez des dates importantes d’événements et de présentations à venir, la date de la réunion annuelle, les revenus et dividendes trimestriels.

Investisseurs Article

Contacts investisseurs

Une liste des informations de contact pour les investisseurs et les actionnaires des enquêtes.

Investisseurs Article

Rapports annuels et trimestriels

Accès et télécharger les rapports annuels et trimestriels de l'Impériale.

Investisseurs Actualités