Intern, co-op and apprenticeship opportunities

Turbo charge your learning. Land a work-term at Imperial.

Article

In this article

Intern, co-op and apprenticeship opportunities

There isn’t a better way to complete your education than by putting your knowledge to work with the top experts of your field. That’s because learning happens best when we’re overcoming challenges – like how to meet growing demand for energy across the world, while protecting the environment. And how to do things better. We need the fresh and diverse perspectives you bring and we’re eager to help you apply them in different settings. And, oh yeah, we’re an integrated company, which means we have lots of settings and opportunities to invest in your growth.

So where do you fit?

Are you an upstream, midstream or downstream person? Or, do you bring special skills that apply to all areas of business?

 Tapping it (upstream)

Are you fascinated by the natural world where oil and gas begin – the land, the challenges, solutions and the technologies that make it all happen? Maybe an opportunity in the upstream business is right for you. That’s where we explore for resources and get them out of the ground.

 Moving it (midstream)

For oil to meet energy demand around the world, we need to get it on the move. Are you interested in the puzzles that come with moving and storing these resources? We have 21 terminals across Canada, which help ensure reliability of fuel products to numerous regions. We also have product pipelines which provide a safe, environmentally friendly and vital way to transport both crude oil for refining and refined petrochemicals to consumers.

 Refining it (downstream)

Maybe you’re an inventor type with a curious mind, intrigued by the world of refining and chemical products. This is the sector that most impacts our daily lives. It’s where the oil becomes the road and the grease hits the gears. It’s trips to the cabin. It’s the plastic in your frisbee and the power that lifts airplanes. The downstream world turns raw potential into products that make the modern world possible.

 Selling it (retail)

You may already be familiar with our retail business. It includes the Mobil lubricants you put in your car, the Esso/Mobil gas station down the street – even the long-standing connection to hockey. While we no longer own or operate gas stations, we still have teams dedicated to selling product to distributers and wholesalers, managing and marketing the retail brands (Esso and Mobil), and overseeing our sponsorships.

 Advancing it (research on all the above)

Knowledge is power. Reducing emissions, saving water, finding efficiencies and protecting the environment. That’s what drives research at Imperial. We don’t just fund researchers... we hire them, we promote them and we invest in them. Our organization is taking the industry to the next frontiers of operational excellence through our research labs in Calgary and Sarnia and through collaboration with smart organizations and even smarter people.

 Supporting it

Do you have specialized skills that supports all the segments above? Whether your background is in finance, commercial, information technology, law, safety, human resources or a number of other fields – you will play an important supporting role in all we do at Imperial.

Learn more about what we do.

Sounds great. How do I sign up?

If you’re currently in university or college, we’ve got co-op and internship opportunities available for you at various times throughout the year.

Join us

Campus events

We want to reach out to smart people like you. That’s why we visit campuses across Canada and share upcoming career opportunities. Check back periodically to see upcoming events happening in your area.
See our events

Don’t take our word for it, hear from some of our past and current students

Meet Ardash Khokal, a mining engineering student who wanted to build up his skills by digging in at the workplace. He got that opportunity in spades here at Imperial. His biggest advice to students? Look at the bigger picture and integrate into our culture and social activities.

Learn more about the experiences of Ardash and others in these videos:

UofT mineral engineering student Adarsh Khokal shares his experience.
Dalhousie commerce student Lana Toews shares her experience.

Related content

Flexible work

Balancing work and life, together.

Careers Article

Career opportunities

More sectors. More challenges. More opportunities.

Careers Article

Rewards and benefits

Designed for our employees.

Careers Article

Employment eligibility

All applicants who receive an offer of employment must be eligible to work in Canada on their start date.

Careers Article

Occasions d’apprentissage, d’alternance et de stage

Propulsez votre formation. Décrochez un stage à L’Impériale. 

Article

In this article

Occasions d’apprentissage, d’alternance et de stage

Il n’y a pas de meilleur moyen de peaufiner votre éducation qu’en faisant appel à vos connaissances pour travailler avec les plus grands spécialistes dans le domaine. Cela se produit parce qu’on apprend mieux quand il faut résoudre des problèmes – comme de savoir comment répondre à l’augmentation de la demande d’énergie dans le monde, tout en protégeant l’environnement. Et comment mieux faire les choses. Nous avons besoin d’avoir un éventail d’opinions et avons hâte de vous aider à les faire valoir dans différents contextes. Et bien sûr, nous sommes une société intégrée, ce qui signifie que nous offrons toutes sortes de circonstances et d’occasions qui nous permettent d’investir dans votre croissance.

Quel secteur vous convient?

Cadrez-vous avec le secteur amont, médian ou aval? Avez-vous des compétences particulières convenant à tous les secteurs de l’entreprise?

 Exploitation (secteur amont)

Êtes-vous fasciné par l’origine des produits pétroliers et gaziers – les matières premières, les défis, les solutions et les technologies qui permettent d’y parvenir? Une carrière dans le secteur amont vous convient peut-être. C’est le secteur qui s’occupe de l’exploration et de l’exploitation des ressources.

 Transport (secteur médian)

Pour que le pétrole puisse répondre à la demande mondiale, il nous faut le transporter. Êtes-vous intéressé à résoudre les défis que posent le transport et le stockage de ces ressources? Nous comptons 21 dépôts au Canada, qui permettent d’assurer la fiabilité de l’approvisionnement en carburant dans plusieurs régions. Nous avons aussi des pipelines qui fournissent un moyen sûr, respectueux de l’environnement et indispensable d’acheminer le pétrole brut aux raffineries et les produits pétrochimiques raffinés aux consommateurs.

 Raffinage (secteur aval et chimique)

Êtes-vous un peu inventeur, doté d’un esprit curieux et intrigué par l’industrie du raffinage et des produits chimiques ? C’est le secteur qui a le plus d’incidence dans notre quotidien. C’est dans ce secteur que le pétrole devient l’asphalte de la route, le lubrifiant de votre transmission. Et l’essence dans votre voiture. Il permet de créer le plastique de votre Frisbee et de faire décoller les avions. Le secteur aval transforme les matières premières pour en faire les produits sans lesquels le monde moderne n’existerait pas.

 Vente (secteur détail)

Vous connaissez sans doute déjà nos activités de détail. Elles comprennent les lubrifiants Mobil, les stations-service Esso et Mobil de votre localité et même, nos liens de longue date avec le hockey. Même si nous nous sommes défaits de nos stations-service, nous avons toujours des équipes qui s’occupent de vendre des produits aux distributeurs et aux grossistes, de gérer et de commercialiser nos marques de détail (Esso et Mobil) et de superviser nos commandites.

 Recherche (tous les secteurs ci-dessus)

Savoir c’est pouvoir. La diminution des émissions, l’économie d’eau, l’amélioration de la productivité et la protection de l’environnement. Ce sont nos sujets de recherche à L’Impériale. Nous ne faisons pas que subventionner des chercheurs... nous les embauchons, nous les encourageons et nous investissons dans leurs projets. Notre compagnie inspire l’industrie à repousser les frontières de l’excellence opérationnelle grâce à nos laboratoires de recherche à Calgary et à Sarnia, ainsi qu’à notre collaboration avec des organisations de talent et des personnes encore plus douées.

 Soutien

Avez-vous des compétences spécialisées qui soutiennent tous les segments ci-dessus? Que vous ayez une formation en finance, en commerce, en technologie de l'information, en droit, en sécurité, en ressources humaines ou dans un certain nombre d'autres domaines, vous jouerez un rôle de soutien important dans tout ce que nous faisons chez Imperial.

En savoir plus sur ce que nous faisons.

C’est intéressant. Comment s’inscrire?

Si vous êtes présentement inscrit à un programme universitaire ou collégial, nous offrons des programmes d’études en alternance et de stages à différentes périodes de l’année.

Cliquez ici pour afficher les offres d’emploi pour les étudiants.
Rejoignez-nous

Activités de campus

Nous voulons rencontrer des personnes intelligentes comme vous. C’est pourquoi nous visitons des campus partout au Canada pour faire connaître nos possibilités de carrière. Revenez périodiquement pour savoir quelles activités se déroulent dans votre région.
Voir nos événements

Ne vous fiez pas à nous, écoutez ce que ces étudiants en pensent

Voici Ardash Khokal, étudiant en génie minier qui voulait accroître ses compétences en explorant à fond l’expérience de travail. Il a profité d’une occasion en or à L’Impériale. Quel conseil veut-il principalement donner aux étudiants? Prenez du recul et mêlez-vous à la culture et aux activités sociales de la compagnie.

En savoir plus sur l’expérience d’Ardash et d’autres étudiants dans ces vidéos.

Contenu associé

Travail adaptable

Pour assurer l’équilibre entre le travail et la vie personnelle.

Formation et mentorat

Apprendre sans cesse.

Possibilités de carrière

Plus de secteurs. Plus de défis. Plus d’occasions.

Récompenses et avantages

Conçus pour nos employés.