Board of Directors

Five independent directors and two non-independent directors bring diverse backgrounds and experience to the board. For more information on the board members, view their biographies.

Article

In this article

Board of Directors

David Cornhill

Image

Mr. Cornhill is a director of AltaGas Ltd., and is the chairman of the board of directors of TriSummit Utilities Inc. (formerly AltaGas Canada Inc.), a privately owned corporation. Mr. Cornhill is a founding shareholder of AltaGas (and its predecessors). He was chief executive officer of AltaGas from 1994 to 2016 and served as interim co-chief executive officer from July to December 2018. Prior to forming AltaGas, Mr. Cornhill served in various capacities with Alberta and Southern Gas Co. Ltd, including vice-president, finance and administration, treasurer and president and chief executive officer. Mr. Cornhill is an experienced leader in the business community and is a strong supporter of communities and community collaboration, investment and enhancement. He is a member of the Ivey Advisory Board at Western University. Mr. Cornhill holds a BSc (Hons.) degree and a MBA degree from Western University, and he was awarded an honorary Doctor of Laws degree by the University in 2015.

Brad Corson

Image

Mr. Corson was appointed chairman, president and CEO of Imperial Oil Limited on January 1, 2020.

Mr. Corson started his career with Exxon Company, USA in 1983 as a project engineer and has held a wide variety of technical, commercial and managerial assignments primarily in the upstream, but also in the downstream and human resources.  He spent the first twenty-one years of his career based in the U.S. with assignments in Louisiana, California, Texas and Virginia before relocating overseas. 

In 2004, Mr. Corson moved to Hong Kong as manager of Hong Kong Power and chairman of CAPCO, ExxonMobil’s Joint Venture in the power industry.  In 2007, Mr. Corson returned to Houston, Texas as vice-president of New Business Development for ExxonMobil Gas & Power Marketing Company with global responsibility for commercializing ExxonMobil’s major gas resources and pursuit of new opportunities.

From 2009 to 2014, Mr. Corson was based in London as chairman and production director of ExxonMobil International Limited where he had responsibility for ExxonMobil’s oil & gas production activities in Europe and Caspian regions.  He also served as ExxonMobil’s lead country manager for the United Kingdom during this period.

In 2014, Mr. Corson returned to Houston, Texas as vice-president of ExxonMobil Upstream Ventures and in March, 2015, was appointed president of ExxonMobil Upstream Ventures and a vice-president of Exxon Mobil Corporation.

Mr. Corson is a native of Woodstock, Illinois, U.S.A., and earned a Bachelor of Science degree in chemical engineering from Auburn University.

Matthew Crocker

Image

M.C. (Matt) Crocker is Senior Vice President of Fuels at ExxonMobil Fuels & Lubricants Company since September 2020. He is responsible for the Downstream Global Fuels Value Chain, from crude to customers. 

Mr. Crocker joined Esso Petroleum Company in 1995 at the Fawley Refinery in the UK and held a number of positions in technical and supervisory roles.

Mr. Crocker has also held leadership positions within the Upstream, Chemicals and Manufacturing. In 2005, Matt transferred to Fairfax, Virginia where he progressed through a number of positions within Refining & Supply and ExxonMobil Chemical Company. In 2012, Matt became Baton Rouge Refinery Process Manager and in 2014 he was appointed Baytown Refinery Manager. In October 2016, Matt assumed the position of Project Executive on the Downstream Reorganization Project before becoming the Vice President Intermediates, ExxonMobil Chemical Company in April, 2017.

Prior to his current position, Mr. Crocker was Vice President, Strategy & Portfolio Management, covering the full scope of ExxonMobil’s Upstream business.

Mr. Crocker was born in Cuckfield, England and earned a Master’s degree in Chemical Engineering from Cambridge University.

Krystyna Hoeg

Image

Ms. Hoeg was the president and chief executive officer of Corby Distilleries Limited from 1996 until her retirement in February 2007. She previously held several positions in the finance and controllers functions of Allied Domecq PLC and Hiram Walker & Sons Limited. Prior to that, she spent five years in public practice as a chartered accountant with the accounting firm Touche Ross. She is currently a director of New Flyer Industries Inc. and is also a director of Revera Inc., Arterra Wines Canada Inc., Duo Bank of Canada and Duo Financial Corporation, privately owned corporations. Ms. Hoeg is a past chair of the board of the Michael Garron Hospital.

Miranda Hubbs

Image

Ms. Hubbs is currently an independent director of Nutrien Ltd. and PSP Investments (Public Sector Pension Investment Board). Ms. Hubbs serves as vice-chair of the board of the Canadian Red Cross. Prior to retirement in 2011, Ms. Hubbs was executive vice president and managing director of McLean Budden, one of Canada’s leading investment managers. Ms. Hubbs holds a BSc from Western University and an MBA from Schulich School of Business at York University and is a CFA charterholder. Ms. Hubbs serves on the ICD Climate Strategy Advisory Board and the Global Risk Institute Sustainable Finance Advisory Committee, holds the Fundamentals of Sustainability Accounting credential from the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board, and has received her CERT Certificate in Cybersecurity Oversight issued by the Software Engineering Institute at Carnegie Mellon University.

Jack Mintz

Image

Dr. Mintz is currently the President’s Fellow at the University of Calgary’s School of Public Policy, a position he has held since July 2015. Dr. Mintz also serves on the board of Alberta Health Services and is the Senior Fellow at the C.D. Howe Institute, Distinguished Fellow at the MacDonald-Laurier Institute and Research Fellow at the International Tax and Investment Center (Washington D.C.). From 2006 to 2015, Dr. Mintz was the founding Director and Palmer Chair in Public Policy for the University of Calgary, and from 1999 to 2006, he was the president and chief executive officer of the C.D. Howe Institute. Prior to 2007, he also held professor positions at Queen's University and the Joseph L. Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto. Dr. Mintz also has published widely in the fields of public economics and fiscal federalism, has been an advisor to governments on fiscal matters, and has frequently published articles in national newspapers and magazines. Dr. Mintz received the Order of Canada in 2015.

David Sutherland

Image

In July 2007, Mr. Sutherland retired as president and chief executive officer of the former IPSCO, Inc. after spending 30 years with the company and more than five years as president and chief executive officer. Mr. Sutherland is the chairman of the board of United States Steel Corporation and director of GATX Corporation. Mr. Sutherland is also chairman of Graham Group Ltd., an employee owned corporation. Mr. Sutherland is a former chairman of the American Iron and Steel Institute and served as a member of the board of directors of the Steel Manufacturers Association, the International Iron and Steel Institute, the Canadian Steel Producers Association and the National Association of Manufacturers. 

Related content

Ethics and Standards of Business Conduct

Our commitment to high ethical standards is implemented through our policies and practices in every aspect of our business and at every location where we operate.

Corporate governance Article

Imperial statement on labour and the workplace

Imperial is committed to providing positive, productive and supportive work environments throughout its operations.

Corporate governance Article

Corporate governance disclosure

Imperial is committed to disclosure of all material information in a timely manner to allow investors to value the shares of the company and comply with regulations.

Corporate governance Article

Board and committee governance

Our board and its various committees provide oversight of different issues. For more information on the position description for the chairman, the board mandate, committee charters and majority voting policy, view the applicable links.

Corporate governance Article

Le conseil

Cinq administrateurs indépendants et deux administrateurs non indépendants ayant des expériences et des antécédents diversifiés composent le Conseil. Pour en apprendre plus sur les membres du Conseil, lisez leurs biographies.

Article

DANS CET ARTICLE

Le conseil

David Cornhill

Image

M. Cornhill est un administrateur de AltaGas Ltd. et président du conseil d’administration de TriSummit Utilities Inc. (auparavant AltaGas Canada Inc.), une entreprise privée. M. Cornhill est actionnaire fondateur de AltaGas (et des sociétés remplacées). Il a occupé les fonctions de chef de la direction de AltaGas de 1994 à 2016 et de co-chef de la direction par intérim de juillet à décembre 2018. Avant de fonder AltaGas, M. Cornhill a occupé divers postes, notamment ceux de vice-président, finances et administration, trésorier et président et président et chef de la direction de la Alberta and Southern Gas Co. Ltd. M. Cornhill est un dirigeant d’entreprise d’expérience dans le milieu des affaires et soutient ardemment les collectivités, et la collaboration, l’investissement dans les collectivités et la revitalisation de l’action communautaire. Il fait partie du comité consultatif de la Ivey Business School à l’Université Western. M. Cornhill est titulaire d’un baccalauréat spécialisé ès sciences et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université Western, qui lui a conféré un doctorat en droit honorifique en 2015.

Brad Corson

Image

M. Corson a assumé les fonctions de président du Conseil, président et chef de la direction de la Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Limitée le 1er janvier 2020.

M. Corson a commencé sa carrière à Exxon Company USA en 1983 en tant qu’ingénieur de projet et s’est vu confier diverses affectations techniques, commerciales et de gestion, principalement dans le secteur amont, mais aussi dans le secteur aval et les ressources humaines. Il a passé ses 21 premières années aux États-Unis, plus spécifiquement en Louisiane, en Californie, au Texas et en Virginie avant que sa carrière l’amène à l’étranger.  
En 2004, M. Corson a déménagé à Hong Kong pour assumer les fonctions de directeur de Hong Kong Power et de président du Conseil de CAPCO, une coentreprise d’ExxonMobil dans le secteur de l’énergie. En 2007, M. Corson est revenu à Houston, au Texas, comme vice-président, Développement des affaires pour ExxonMobil Gas & Power Marketing Company, pour assumer la responsabilité mondiale de la commercialisation des principales ressources de gaz d’ExxonMobil et de la recherche de nouvelles occasions.

M. Corson a travaillé à Londres de 2009 à 2014, en tant que président du Conseil et directeur de la production d’ExxonMobil International Limited où il était responsable des activités de production de pétrole et de gaz d’ExxonMobil en Europe et dans les régions bordant la mer Caspienne. Il s’est aussi acquitté des fonctions de directeur national d’ExxonMobil pour le Royaume-Uni pendant cette période.

En 2014, M. Corson est revenu à Houston, au Texas, au poste de vice-président, Initiatives du secteur amont d’ExxonMobil puis, en mars 2015, a été nommé président, Initiatives du secteur amont d’ExxonMobil et vice-président d’Exxon Mobil Corporation.   

M. Corson, qui est né à Woodstock, en Illinois, a obtenu son baccalauréat ès sciences en génie chimique de l’Université Auburn.

Matthew Crocker

Image
 

M.C. (Matt) Crocker est vice-président principal, Carburants, à la Compagnie ExxonMobil – Carburants et lubrifiants, depuis septembre 2020. Il est responsable de la chaîne de valeur mondiale des carburants, secteur Aval, allant du pétrole brut jusqu’aux clients. 

M. Crocker s’est joint à Esso Petroleum Company en 1995 à la raffinerie de Fawley au Royaume-Uni et a occupé plusieurs postes dans des fonctions techniques et de supervision.

M. Crocker a également occupé des postes de direction dans le secteur Amont, Produits chimiques et fabrication. En 2005, Matt a été transféré à Fairfax, en Virginie, où il a occupé plusieurs postes au sein de Refining & Supply (Raffinerie et approvisionnement) d’ExxonMobil Chemical Company. En 2012, Matt est devenu directeur de procédé de la raffinerie de Baton Rouge et en 2014, il a été nommé directeur de la raffinerie de Baytown. En octobre 2016, Matt a assumé le poste de directeur de projet sur le projet de réorganisation du secteur Aval avant de devenir vice-président, Produits intermédiaires, chez ExxonMobil Chemical Company en avril 2017.

Avant d’occuper son poste actuel, M. Crocker était vice-président de Strategy & Portfolio Management (Gestion de la stratégie et du portefeuille), couvrant l’ensemble des activités du secteur Amont d’ExxonMobil.

M. Crocker est né à Cuckfield, en Angleterre, et a obtenu une maîtrise en génie chimique de l’Université de Cambridge.

 

Krystyna Hoeg

Image

Mme Hoeg a été présidente et chef de la direction de Corby Distilleries Limited de 1996 jusqu’à sa retraite en février 2007. Auparavant, elle a occupé plusieurs postes au sein des services des finances et du contrôle de Allied Domecq PLC et de Hiram Walker & Sons Limited. Antérieurement, elle a œuvré cinq ans dans le secteur de la comptabilité publique à titre de comptable agréée au sein du cabinet comptable Touche Ross. Elle siège actuellement au sein du conseil d’administration de New Flyer Industries Inc., ainsi qu’au sein des conseils d’administration de Revera Inc., de la Banque Duo du Canada et de Duo Financial Corporation, des sociétés privées. Mme Hoeg est également ancienne présidente du conseil d’administration du Michael Garron Hospital.

Miranda Hubbs

Image

Mme Hubbs est actuellement une administratrice indépendante de Nutrien Ltd. et de Investissements PSP (l’Office d’investissement des régimes de pensions du secteur public). Elle est vice-présidente du conseil d’administration de la Croix-Rouge canadienne. Avant son départ à la retraite in 2011, Mme Hubbs était vice-présidente à la direction et directrice générale de McLean Budden, une des principales sociétés de gestion de placements du Canada. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences de l’Université Western, d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la faculté Schulich de l’Université York et de la charte CFA. Mme Hubbs siège au conseil consultatif sur la stratégie climatique de l’IAS et au comité consultatif sur le financement durable du Global Risk Institute, a reçu la désignation Fundamentals of Sustainability Accounting du Sustainability Accounting Standards Board, et possède également le certificat CERT en surveillance de la cybersécurité délivré par le Software Engineering Institute de l’Université Carnegie Mellon.

Jack Mintz

Image

M. Jack Mintz est actuellement President’s Fellow de la School of Public Policy de l’Université de Calgary, poste qu’il détient depuis juillet 2015. M. Jack Mintz siège également au conseil d’administration des Alberta Health Services et est Senior Fellow au CD. Institut Howe, Distinguished Fellow au MacDonald-Laurier Institute et Research Fellow au International Tax and Investment Center (Washington D.C.). De 2006 à 2015, M. Mintz a été directeur et titulaire de la chaire Palmer en politique publique à l’Université de Calgary, après avoir occupé, de 1999 à 2006, le poste de président et chef de la direction de l’Institut C.D. Howe. Avant 2007, il était professeur à l’Université Queen’s et à la Joseph L. Rotman School of Management de l’Université de Toronto. Il a également publié de nombreux ouvrages dans les domaines de l’économie du secteur public et du fédéralisme fiscal, a agi à titre de consultant auprès de pouvoirs publics en matière de finances et a souvent publié des articles dans des revues et des journaux à diffusion nationale. M. Mintz a été nommé Officier de l’Ordre du Canada en 2015.

David Sutherland

Image

M. Sutherland a été président et chef de la direction de l’ancienne IPSCO Inc. jusqu’à sa retraite en juillet 2007, après avoir passé 30 ans avec la société et plus de cinq ans en qualité de président et chef de la direction. M. Sutherland est président du conseil de la United States Steel Corporation et administrateur de GATX Corporation. Il est également président de Graham Group Ltd., une société dont la majorité des intérêts est la propriété des employés. Il a été président de l’American Iron and Steel Institute et membre des conseils d’administration de la Steel Manufacturers Association, de l’International Iron and Steel Institute, de l’Association canadienne des producteurs d’acier et de la National Association of Manufacturers. 

Contenu associé

Déclaration de L’Impériale sur la main-d’œuvre et le lieu de travail

L’Impériale s’engage à créer un environnement de travail positif, productif et favorable dans l’ensemble de ses activités.

Gouvernance d’entreprise Article

Gouvernance du conseil et du comité

Notre conseil d’administration et ses divers comités assurent la supervision de différentes questions. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la description du poste de président du conseil, le mandat du conseil, les chartes des comités et la politique en matière de vote à la majorité, cliquez sur les liens appropriés.

Gouvernance d’entreprise Article

Éthique et normes de conduite d’entreprise

Nous concrétisons notre engagement envers des normes d’éthique élevées en appliquant nos politiques et nos pratiques dans tous les volets de notre entreprise et partout où nous exerçons nos activités.

Gouvernance d’entreprise Article