Board of Directors

Five independent directors and two non-independent directors bring diverse backgrounds and experience to the board. For more information on the board members, view their biographies.


In this article

Board of Directors

Brad Corson

Mr. Corson was appointed chairman, president and CEO of Imperial Oil Limited on January 1, 2020.

Mr. Corson started his career with Exxon Company, USA in 1983 as a project engineer and has held a wide variety of technical, commercial and managerial assignments primarily in the upstream, but also in the downstream and human resources.  He spent the first twenty-one years of his career based in the U.S. with assignments in Louisiana, California, Texas and Virginia before relocating overseas. 

In 2004, Mr. Corson moved to Hong Kong as manager of Hong Kong Power and chairman of CAPCO, ExxonMobil’s Joint Venture in the power industry.  In 2007, Mr. Corson returned to Houston, Texas as vice-president of New Business Development for ExxonMobil Gas & Power Marketing Company with global responsibility for commercializing ExxonMobil’s major gas resources and pursuit of new opportunities.

From 2009 to 2014, Mr. Corson was based in London as chairman and production director of ExxonMobil International Limited where he had responsibility for ExxonMobil’s oil & gas production activities in Europe and Caspian regions.  He also served as ExxonMobil’s lead country manager for the United Kingdom during this period.

In 2014, Mr. Corson returned to Houston, Texas as vice-president of ExxonMobil Upstream Ventures and in March, 2015, was appointed president of ExxonMobil Upstream Ventures and a vice-president of Exxon Mobil Corporation.

Mr. Corson is a native of Woodstock, Illinois, U.S.A., and earned a Bachelor of Science degree in chemical engineering from Auburn University.

Dave Brownell

D.C. (Dave) Brownell is senior vice-president of global operations since January 2018, responsible for refining and midstream operations across the downstream.

Mr. Brownell joined Exxon Company USA in 1989 in lubes marketing in Bayonne, New Jersey.  After serving in a number of marketing assignments in Baltimore, Charlotte, and Houston, and taking an educational leave, in 1997 he became manager of Pan European sales with Esso Lubes Europe in Brussels.  He subsequently held various advisory and managerial positions within supply including AP crude optimization manager in Singapore. 

Mr. Brownell has also held manufacturing leadership positions in chemicals and refining; as operations manager at the Rotterdam aromatics plant and technical manager of the Singapore refinery. In 2009, Mr. Brownell moved to become the process manager of the Baton Rouge refinery and in 2012 he was appointed Antwerp refinery manager.

Most recently Mr. Brownell was vice-president of downstream business development and portfolio management since May 2014 responsible for commercially pursuing growth, restructuring or divestment opportunities across the downstream.

Mr. Brownell has a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Worcester Polytechnic Institute and a Master of Business Administration from Northwestern Kellogg School of Management. 

David Cornhill

Mr. Cornhill is currently the chairman of the board and founder of AltaGas Ltd.  Mr. Cornhill founded AltaGas on April 1, 1994 and served as chairman of the board and chief executive officer until April 15, 2016.  He is also a director of AltaGas Canada Inc., and has served on various non-profit boards with a focus on education and the community.

From 1987 to 1994, Mr. Cornhill was with Alberta and Southern Gas Co. Ltd. in various leadership roles including president and chief operating officer and vice president, finance and administration and treasurer.  From 1980 to 1987, he held various roles at Gulf Canada. Mr. Cornhill is the recipient of the Calgary Ivey Leadership Award (2010), the Ivey Distinguished Service Award (2010) and the Ernst and Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award (2000).  In February 2017, he was recognized as Chairperson of the Year by Alberta Oil Magazine in their annual C-Suite Energy Executive Awards.

Krystyna Hoeg

Ms. Hoeg was the president and chief executive officer of Corby Distilleries Limited from 1996 until her retirement in February 2007. She previously held several positions in the finance and controllers functions of Allied Domecq PLC and Hiram Walker & Sons Limited. Prior to that, she spent five years in public practice as a chartered accountant with the accounting firm of Touche Ross.

Ms. Hoeg is currently a director of New Flyer Industries Inc., and is also a director of Samuel, Son & Co. Limited, Revera Inc., and Arterra Wines Canada Inc., privately owned corporations. Ms. Hoeg is also the past chair of Michael Garron Hospital.

Miranda Hubbs

Ms. Hubbs is currently an independent director of Nutrien Ltd. and the Public Sector Pension Investment Board, one of Canada’s largest pension investment managers. She brings a wealth of experience within the energy industry, having received recognition as a leader and executive in the oil and gas investment community. Prior to 2011, Ms. Hubbs was executive vice president and managing director at McLean Budden, one of Canada's largest institutional asset managers, and previous to that was an energy investment banker at Gordon Capital, a large Canadian brokerage firm. She has also served on the board of Agrium Inc. and Spectra Energy Corporation. Ms. Hubbs is a community leader dedicated to philanthropic and humanitarian issues. She currently serves on the board of the Canadian Red Cross and is a founding member and past National Co-Chair of the Canadian Red Cross Tiffany Circle - Women Leading Through Philanthropy. Ms. Hubbs holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Western Ontario and a Master of Business Administration degree from the Schulich School of Business at York University. She is a CFA charterholder and a National Association of Corporate Directors Governance Fellow.

Jack Mintz

Dr. Mintz is currently the President’s Fellow at the University of Calgary’s School of Public Policy focusing on tax, urban and financial market regulatory policy programs. From 2006 to 2015, Dr. Mintz was the Director and Palmer Chair in Public Policy for the University of Calgary and prior to that he was the president and chief executive officer of The C.D. Howe Institute since 1999. He has also been a professor at the Joseph L. Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto since 1989. Dr. Mintz also sits as a director with Morneau Shepell Inc. and has published widely in the fields of public economics and fiscal federalism, been an advisor to governments throughout the world on fiscal matters, and has frequently published articles in national newspapers and magazines.

David Sutherland

In July 2007, Mr. Sutherland retired as president and chief executive officer of the former IPSCO, Inc. after spending 30 years with the company and more than five years as president and chief executive officer. Mr. Sutherland is the chairman of the board of United States Steel Corporation, lead director of GATX Corporation and chairman of Graham Group Ltd., an employee owned corporation. Mr. Sutherland is also chairman of Graham Group Ltd., an employee owned corporation, and is a director of Steelcraft Inc., a privately owned corporation.

Mr. Sutherland is a former chairman of the American Iron and Steel Institute and served as a member of the board of directors of the Steel Manufacturers Association, the International Iron and Steel Institute, the Canadian Steel Producers Association and the National Association of Manufacturers.