Imperial statement on labour and the workplace

Imperial is committed to providing positive, productive and supportive work environments throughout its operations.

Article

Imperial statement on labour and the workplace
The Company has long-established programs to attract, develop and retain a highly talented workforce that is representative of where we operate. Imperial values the exceptional quality and diversity of its employees.

Wherever we operate, certain principles consistently apply to the Company’s relationships with its employees and its expectations of conduct in the workplace. Imperial’s Standards of Business Conduct provide a framework and associated policies for responsible operations. They are consistent with the spirit and intent of the International Labor Organization 1998 Declaration Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work; the Forced Labor Convention, 1930; the Abolition of Forced Labor Convention, 1957; the Worst Forms of Child Labor Convention, 1999; and the Declaration on Social Justice for a Fair Globalization (2008); as well as other Canadian laws and regulations. The ILO Declaration sets an obligation on Member States to promote and realize the following principles:

  • Freedom of association and effective recognition of the right to collective bargaining;
  • Elimination of all forms of forced or compulsory labour;
  • Effective abolition of child labour; and
  • Elimination of discrimination in respect of employment and occupation.

Imperial supports these principles, and develops and implements suitable policies, procedures and practices in light of applicable laws and specific circumstances to accomplish the objectives of the ILO Declaration as noted below.

Freedom of association and right to collective bargaining

Imperial recognizes and respects its employees’ right to join associations and choose representative organizations for the purpose of engaging in collective bargaining in a manner consistent with applicable laws, rules and regulations as well as local customs as appropriate.

Elimination of forced or compulsory labour

Imperial does not use forced or compulsory labour including prison labour. Imperial recruits its employees and provides working conditions that comply with applicable laws and regulations, including payment of wages and benefits and workplace safety standards.

Abolition of child labour

Throughout Imperial’s operations, we forbid the use of children in our workforce. All Imperial employees are above the legal employment age in Canada.

Elimination of workplace discrimination and harassment

Imperial's Standards of Business Conduct include an Equal Employment Opportunity Policy, which states, in part:

It is the policy of Imperial to provide equal employment opportunity in conformance with all applicable laws and regulations to individuals who are qualified to perform job requirements.

The Standards of Business Conduct also include a Harassment in the Workplace Policy that prohibits any form of harassment in the workplace with the objective of providing a work environment that fosters mutual employee respect. It is the policy of Imperial to provide an environment free from violence, threats, and intimidation against workers.

Déclaration de L’Impériale sur la main-d’œuvre et le lieu de travail

L’Impériale s’engage à créer un environnement de travail positif, productif et favorable dans l’ensemble de ses activités.

Article

Déclaration de L’Impériale sur la main-d’œuvre et le lieu de travail
La compagnie a des programmes établis depuis longtemps pour attirer, former et retenir une main-d’œuvre hautement talentueuse qui est représentative des régions où elle exploite ses activités. L’Impériale attache une grande importance à la qualité exceptionnelle et la diversité de ses employés.

Peu importe où nous menons nos activités, certains principes s’appliquent de façon cohérente aux relations de la compagnie avec ses employés et à ses attentes en matière de comportement au travail. Les normes de conduite professionnelle de L’Impériale fournissent un cadre et des politiques connexes pour des activités responsables. Ces politiques sont conformes à l’esprit et à l’intention de la Déclaration de 1998 relative aux principes et droits fondamentaux au travail de l’Organisation internationale du Travail; à la Convention sur le travail forcé, 1930; à la Convention concernant l’abolition du travail forcé, 1957; à la Convention concernant l’interdiction des pires formes de travail des enfants, 1999; et à la Déclaration sur la justice sociale pour une mondialisation équitable (2008); ainsi qu’aux autres lois et règlements du Canada. En vertu de la Déclaration de l’OIT, les États membres sont tenus de promouvoir et de mettre en pratique les principes suivants :

  • la liberté d’association et la reconnaissance effective du droit de négociation collective;
  • l’élimination de toutes formes de travail forcé ou obligatoire;
  • l’abolition du travail des enfants; et
  • l’élimination de la discrimination en matière d’emploi et de profession.

L’Impériale soutient ces principes et élabore et met en œuvre des politiques, des procédures et des pratiques appropriées compte tenu des lois applicables et des circonstances particulières afin d’atteindre les objectifs énoncés dans la Déclaration de l’OIT, tel qu’il est indiqué ci-dessous.

Liberté d’association et reconnaissance du droit de négociation collective

L’Impériale reconnaît et respecte le droit des employés d’adhérer à des associations et de choisir des organisations représentatives pour engager des négociations collectives d’une manière qui soit conforme aux lois, règles et règlements applicables ainsi qu’aux pratiques locales, selon le cas.

Élimination du travail forcé ou obligatoire

L’Impériale n’a pas recours au travail forcé ou obligatoire, y compris par la main-d’œuvre carcérale. L’Impériale recrute ses employés et leur offre des conditions de travail qui sont conformes aux lois et règlements applicables, y compris le paiement d’un salaire et la prestation d’avantages ainsi que des conditions de travail sécuritaires.

Abolition du travail des enfants

L’Impériale interdit l’utilisation d’enfants dans sa main-d’œuvre dans l’ensemble de ces activités. Tous les employés de L’Impériale ont dépassé l’âge légal de l’emploi au Canada.

Élimination de la discrimination et du harcèlement en milieu de travail

Les normes de conduite professionnelle de L’Impériale comprennent une Politique d’égalité d’accès à l’emploi, qui stipule, en partie, ce qui suit :

L’Impériale a pour politique d’offrir des chances égales d’emploi, conformément aux lois et règlements pertinents, aux personnes qui ont les compétences requises pour exécuter le travail.

Les normes de conduite professionnelle comprennent aussi une Politique sur le harcèlement au travail qui interdit toute forme de harcèlement au travail dans le but de créer un environnement de travail qui favorise le respect mutuel entre les employés. L’Impériale a pour politique de fournir un environnement exempt de violence, de menaces et d’intimidation envers les travailleurs.