Skip to main content
Search

Board of Directors

Six independent directors and two non-independent directors bring diverse backgrounds and experience to the board. For more information on the board members, view their biographies.

Rich Kruger

Rich Kruger

Mr. Kruger was appointed chairman, president and chief executive officer of Imperial Oil Limited, effective March 1, 2013.

In 1981, Mr. Kruger started his career with Exxon in Houston, Texas, and held various technical, supervisory, and management positions throughout the United States. In 1996, he became technical manager for Exxon's engineering activities in the former Soviet Union and in 1999 was appointed vice president, Africa Deepwater, ExxonMobil Development Company. In 2001, he was appointed director and chairman of ExxonMobil's subsidiaries in Malaysia, and in 2003 was appointed vice president, Asia Pacific/Middle East, for ExxonMobil Production Company.

Mr. Kruger was appointed vice president, United States, of ExxonMobil Production Company in 2005 and in 2006 was named executive vice president of ExxonMobil Production Company. He was appointed president of ExxonMobil Production Company and elected a vice president of Exxon Mobil Corporation in 2008.

A native of Minneapolis, Minnesota, Mr. Kruger holds a mechanical engineering degree from the University of Minnesota and a master's degree in business administration from the University of Houston.

Dave Brownell

D.C. (Dave) Brownell is senior vice-president of global operations since January 2018, responsible for refining and midstream operations across the downstream.

Mr. Brownell joined Exxon Company USA in 1989 in lubes marketing in Bayonne, New Jersey.  After serving in a number of marketing assignments in Baltimore, Charlotte, and Houston, and taking an educational leave, in 1997 he became manager of Pan European sales with Esso Lubes Europe in Brussels.  He subsequently held various advisory and managerial positions within supply including AP crude optimization manager in Singapore. 

Mr. Brownell has also held manufacturing leadership positions in chemicals and refining; as operations manager at the Rotterdam aromatics plant and technical manager of the Singapore refinery. In 2009, Mr. Brownell moved to become the process manager of the Baton Rouge refinery and in 2012 he was appointed Antwerp refinery manager.

Most recently Mr. Brownell was vice-president of downstream business development and portfolio management since May 2014 responsible for commercially pursuing growth, restructuring or divestment opportunities across the downstream.

Mr. Brownell has a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Worcester Polytechnic Institute and a Master of Business Administration from Northwestern Kellogg School of Management. 

David Cornhill

Mr. Cornhill is currently the chairman of the board and founder of AltaGas Ltd.  Mr. Cornhill founded AltaGas on April 1, 1994 and served as chairman of the board and chief executive officer until April 15, 2016.  He is a director of Alterra Power Corp. and Painted Pony Energy Ltd., and has served on various non-profit boards with a focus on education and the community.

From 1987 to 1994, Mr. Cornhill was with Alberta and Southern Gas Co. Ltd. in various leadership roles including president and chief operating officer and vice president, finance and administration and treasurer.  From 1980 to 1987, he held various roles at Gulf Canada. Mr. Cornhill is the recipient of the Calgary Ivey Leadership Award (2010), the Ivey Distinguished Service Award (2010) and the Ernst and Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award (2000).  In February 2017, he was recognized as Chairperson of the Year by Alberta Oil Magazine in their annual C-Suite Energy Executive Awards.

Krystyna Hoeg

Krystyna Hoeg

Ms. Hoeg was the president and chief executive officer of Corby Distilleries Limited from 1996 until her retirement in February 2007. She previously held several positions in the finance and controllers functions of Allied Domecq PLC and Hiram Walker & Sons Limited. Prior to that, she spent five years in public practice as a chartered accountant with the accounting firm of Touche Ross.

Ms. Hoeg is currently a director of New Flyer Industries Inc., and is also a director of Samuel, Son & Co. Limited and Revera Inc., privately owned corporations. Ms. Hoeg is also the chair of the Toronto East General Hospital board.

Miranda Hubbs

Ms. Hubbs is currently an independent director of Nutrien Ltd. and the Public Sector Pension Investment Board, one of Canada’s largest pension investment managers. She brings a wealth of experience within the energy industry, having received recognition as a leader and executive in the oil and gas investment community. Prior to 2011, Ms. Hubbs was executive vice president and managing director at McLean Budden, one of Canada's largest institutional asset managers, and previous to that was an energy investment banker at Gordon Capital, a large Canadian brokerage firm. She has also served on the board of Agrium Inc. and Spectra Energy Corporation. Ms. Hubbs is a community leader dedicated to philanthropic and humanitarian issues. She currently serves on the board of the Canadian Red Cross and is a founding member and past National Co-Chair of the Canadian Red Cross Tiffany Circle - Women Leading Through Philanthropy. Ms. Hubbs holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Western Ontario and a Master of Business Administration degree from the Schulich School of Business at York University. She is a CFA charterholder and a National Association of Corporate Directors Governance Fellow.

Jack Mintz

Jack Mintz

Dr. Mintz is currently the President’s Fellow at the University of Calgary’s School of Public Policy focusing on tax, urban and financial market regulatory policy programs. From 2006 to 2015, Dr. Mintz was the Director and Palmer Chair in Public Policy for the University of Calgary and prior to that he was the president and chief executive officer of The C.D. Howe Institute since 1999. He has also been a professor at the Joseph L. Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto since 1989. Dr. Mintz also sits as a director with Morneau Shepell Inc. and has published widely in the fields of public economics and fiscal federalism, been an advisor to governments throughout the world on fiscal matters, and has frequently published articles in national newspapers and magazines.

David Sutherland

David Sutherland

In July 2007, Mr. Sutherland retired as president and chief executive officer of the former IPSCO, Inc. after spending 30 years with the company and more than five years as president and chief executive officer. Mr. Sutherland is the chairman of the board of United States Steel Corporation, lead director of GATX Corporation and chairman of Graham Group Ltd., an employee owned corporation. Mr. Sutherland is also chairman of Graham Group Ltd., an employee owned corporation, and is a director of Steelcraft Inc., a privately owned corporation.

Mr. Sutherland is a former chairman of the American Iron and Steel Institute and served as a member of the board of directors of the Steel Manufacturers Association, the International Iron and Steel Institute, the Canadian Steel Producers Association and the National Association of Manufacturers.

Sheelagh Whittaker

Sheelagh Whittaker

Ms. Whittaker spent much of her early business career as director and partner with The Canada Consulting Group, now Boston Consulting Group.

From 1989 she was president and chief executive officer of Canadian Satellite Communications (Cancom).

In 1993, Ms. Whittaker joined Electronic Data Systems of Plano, Texas, then one of the world’s foremost providers of information technology services.

Initially spending several years as president and chief executive officer of EDS Canada, Ms Whittaker then undertook other key leadership roles globally, ultimately serving the company as managing director, United Kingdom, Middle East and Africa, until her retirement from EDS in November 2005.

Close

Passer au contenu principal
Recherche

Le conseil

Six administrateurs indépendants et deux administrateurs non indépendants ayant des expériences et des antécédents diversifiés composent le Conseil. Pour en apprendre plus sur les membres du Conseil, lisez leurs biographies.

Rich Kruger

M. Kruger est actuellement président du Conseil, président et chef de la direction de la Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Ltée, un rôle qu'il tient depuis le premier mars, 2013.

M. Kruger commence sa carrière à Exxon en 1981 à Houston, au Texas. Il occupe pour la société divers postes techniques, de supervision et de direction partout aux États-Unis. En 1996, il devient directeur technique des activités d'ingénierie pour Exxon dans l'ancienne Union soviétique, et en 1999, vice-président du projet Africa Deepwater pour la société ExxonMobil Development. En 2001, il est nommé administrateur et président du conseil de filiales d'ExxonMobil en Malaisie, puis vice-président de la région Asie Pacifique et Moyen-Orient pour la société ExxonMobil Production en 2003.

En 2005, M. Kruger devient vice-président de la région des États-Unis pour la société ExxonMobil Production puis, en 2006, vice-président principal pour cette même société. Il est choisi président de la société ExxonMobil Production, puis élu vice-président du conseil de la société ExxonMobil Corporation en 2008.

Originaire de Minneapolis, dans l'État du Minnesota aux États-Unis, M. Kruger est titulaire d'un diplôme en ingénierie mécanique de l'Université du Minnesota et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université de Houston.

Dave Brownell

D.C. (Dave) Brownell est vice-président principal, Exploitation mondiale depuis janvier 2018 et responsable des activités de raffinage et du secteur médian au sein du secteur Aval.

En 1989, M. Brownell s’est joint à la division de marketing des lubrifiants d’Exxon Company USA, à Bayonne, New Jersey. Après avoir réalisé un certain nombre de projets de marketing à Baltimore, Charlotte et Houston, et pris un congé éducatif, il est devenu directeur des ventes paneuropéennes au sein de Esso Lubes Europe, à Bruxelles, en 1997. Par la suite, il a occupé divers postes de conseiller et de gestionnaire au sein de l’approvisionnement, notamment celui de directeur, Optimisation du pétrole brut pour l’Asie-Pacifique, à Singapour. 

M. Brownell a aussi occupé des postes de direction dans le secteur de la fabrication pour les produits chimiques et le raffinage; il a été directeur de l’Exploitation à l’usine de production d’hydrocarbures aromatiques de Rotterdam et directeur technique à la raffinerie de Singapour. En 2009, M. Brownell est devenu directeur de procédé à la raffinerie de Baton Rouge et en 2012, il a été nommé directeur de la raffinerie d’Anvers.

Plus récemment, M. Brownell occupait depuis mai 2014 le poste de vice-président, Développement du secteur Aval et gestion du portefeuille et s’occupait de poursuivre les occasions de croissance, de restructuration et de désinvestissement à des fins commerciales dans le secteur Aval.

M. Brownell a un baccalauréat ès sciences en génie mécanique de l’institut polytechnique de Worcester ainsi qu’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Kellogg School of Management de l’université Northwestern. 

David Cornhill

M. Cornhill, actuellement président du conseil et fondateur de la société AltaGas Ltd., fondée le 1er avril 1994, en a été le président du conseil d’administration et chef de la direction jusqu’au 15 avril 2016. Administrateur au conseil de Alterra Power Corp. et Painted Pony Energy Ltd., il a aussi siégé à divers conseils d’organismes à but non lucratif intéressés par l’éducation et la collectivité.

De 1987 à 1994, M. Cornhill a assumé diverses fonctions managériales au sein de la Alberta and Southern Gas Co. Ltd., dont à titre de président et chef de l’exploitation, vice-président aux finances et à l’administration, et trésorier. Auparavant, de 1980 à 1987, il a occupé divers rôles à Gulf Canada. Récipiendaire du prix Calgary Ivey Leadership Award en 2010 et du prix Ivey Distinguished Service Award en 2010, il a aussi reçu le prix de l’entrepreneur de l’année Ernst and Young en 2000. En février 2017, il a été reconnu en tant que président de conseil de l’année, par le magazine Alberta Oil, lors de la cérémonie de remise annuelle de leurs prix C-Suite Energy Executive Awards.

Krystyna Hoeg

Mme Hoeg a été présidente et chef de la direction de Corby Distilleries Limited de 1996 jusqu’à sa retraite en février 2007. Auparavant, elle a occupé plusieurs postes au sein des services des finances et du contrôle de Allied Domecq PLC et de Hiram Walker & Sons Limited. Antérieurement, elle avait passé cinq ans en pratique publique à titre de comptable agréée dans le cabinet comptable de Touche Ross.

Mme Hoeg siège actuellement aux conseils d’administration de la New Flyer Industries Inc. ainsi qu’à ceux de Samuel, Son & Co. Limited et de Revera Inc., des sociétés privées. Mme Hoeg siège au conseil d’administration du Toronto East General Hospital.

Miranda Hubbs

Mme Hubbs est actuellement une administratrice indépendante de Nutrien Ltd. et de l’Office d’investissement des régimes de pensions du secteur public, l’un des plus importants gestionnaires de fonds pour des régimes de pensions au Canada. Elle apporte une vaste expérience au sein de l’industrie de l’énergie, ayant été reconnue en tant que chef de file et cadre dans la communauté des investisseurs pétroliers et gaziers. Jusqu’à 2011, Mme Hubbs était vice-présidente à la direction et directrice générale chez McLean Budden, l’un des plus importants gestionnaires d’actifs institutionnels au Canada, et auparavant, elle était spécialiste des services bancaires d’investissement en énergie chez Gordon Capital, une importante société de courtage canadienne. Elle a également siégé au conseil d’administration d’Agrium Inc. et de Spectra Energy Corporation. Mme Hubbs est une leader communautaire qui se dévoue aux questions philanthropiques et humanitaires. Elle siège actuellement au conseil d’administration de la Croix-Rouge canadienne et est membre fondatrice et ancienne coprésidente nationale du Cercle Tiffany de la Croix-Rouge canadienne - Women Leading Through Philanthropy. Mme Hubbs est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences de l’Université Western Ontario et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Schulich School of Business de l’Université York. Elle est titulaire de la charte CFA et un Governance Fellow de la National Association of Corporate Directors.

Jack Mintz

Le Dr Jack Mintz est actuellement le chargé de cours du président à la School of Public Policy de l'Université de Calgary, où il se spécialise dans les programmes de politiques de régulation des marchés fiscaux, urbains et financiers. De 2006 à 2015, M. Mintz a été directeur et titulaire de la chaire d'étude Palmer en politique publique de l'Université de Calgary, après avoir occupé le fauteuil de président et de chef de la direction de l'Institut C. D. Howe depuis 1999. Depuis 1989, il s'est également illustré comme professeur à la Joseph L. Rotman School of Management de l'Université de Toronto. Siégeant au Conseil d'administration de Morneau Shepell Inc., il a publié de nombreux ouvrages dans les domaines de l’économie publique et du fédéralisme budgétaire et a souvent publié des articles dans des revues et des journaux à diffusion nationale.

David Sutherland

M. Sutherland a quitté ses fonctions de président et chef de la direction de l’ancienne IPSCO Inc. en juillet 2007, après avoir passé 30 ans avec la société et plus de cinq ans en qualité de président et chef de la direction. M. Sutherland est président du Conseil de la United States Steel Corporation. M. Sutherland est président du Conseil et de Graham Group Ltd., société appartenant à ses employés, et administrateur de Steelcraft Inc., une société privée.

Il a été auparavant président de l’American Iron and Steel Institute et membre des conseils d’administration de la Steel Manufacturers Association, de l’International Iron and Steel Institute, de l’Association canadienne des producteurs d’acier et de la National Association of Manufacturers.

Sheelagh Whittaker

Mme Whittaker a exercé les fonctions de directrice et d’associée chez The Canada Consulting Group, devenu depuis Boston Consulting Group, au début de sa carrière professionnelle.

En 1989, elle est nommée présidente et chef de la direction de la société Les Communications par satellite canadien Inc.(Cancom).

En 1993, Mme Whittaker entre chez Electronic Data Systems de Plano, au Texas, l’un des principaux prestataires de services de technologies de l’information du monde. Après plusieurs années au cours desquelles elle a d’abord agi à titre de présidente et chef de la direction de EDS Canada, Mme Whittaker accepte d’autres fonctions de direction de premier plan sur la scène mondiale, la dernière ayant été celle de directrice générale – Royaume-Uni, Moyen-Orient et Afrique chez EDS avant sa retraite, en novembre 2005.

Mme Whittaker est aussi administratirce de Standard Life Canada.

Fermer