Career opportunities

More sectors. More challenges. More opportunities.

Article

In this article

Career opportunities

We have our work cut out for us. We’re tackling today’s energy and environment challenges across the entire spectrum of the oil and gas business – from the moment we look for oil and get it out of the ground, to the journey to the plant, to the road and the home.

What does this mean for you? It means you will have an opportunity to learn more, and shape progress, across multiple areas of our business. When we step out to solve problems, we look at every step of the oil and gas journey. It means we rely on diversity of thought and experience in our workforce to deliver and innovate.

Whether you’re a recent graduate or an experienced professional, there’s a career opportunity that matches your skills, your interests and where you seek to make a difference.

So where do you fit?

Are you an upstream, midstream or downstream person? Or, do you bring special skills that apply to all areas of business?

 Tapping it (upstream)

Are you fascinated by the natural world where oil and gas begin – the land, the challenges, solutions and the technologies that make it all happen? Maybe an opportunity in the upstream business is right for you. That’s where we explore for resources and get them out of the ground.

 Moving it (midstream)

For oil to meet energy demand around the world, we need to get it on the move. Are you interested in the puzzles that come with moving and storing these resources? We have 21 terminals across Canada, which help ensure reliability of fuel products to numerous regions. We also have product pipelines which provide a safe, environmentally friendly and vital way to transport both crude oil for refining and refined petrochemicals to consumers.

 Refining it (downstream and chemical)

Maybe you’re an inventor type with a curious mind, intrigued by the world of refining and chemical products. This is the sector that most impacts our daily lives. It’s where the oil becomes the road and the grease hits the gears. It’s trips to the cabin. It’s the plastic in your frisbee and the power that lifts airplanes. The downstream world turns raw potential into products that make the modern world possible.

 Selling it (retail)

You may already be familiar with our retail business. It includes the Mobil lubricants you put in your car, the Esso/Mobil gas station down the street – even the long-standing connection to hockey. While we no longer own or operate gas stations, we still have teams dedicated to selling product to distributers and wholesalers, managing and marketing the retail brands (Esso and Mobil), and overseeing our sponsorships.

Advancing it (research on all the above)

Knowledge is power. Reducing emissions, saving water, finding efficiencies and protecting the environment. That’s what drives research at Imperial.  We don’t just fund researchers… we hire them, we promote them and we invest in them. Our organization is taking the industry to the next frontiers of operational excellence through our research labs in Calgary and Sarnia and through collaboration with smart organizations and even smarter people.

 Supporting it

Do you have specialized skills that supports all the segments above? Whether your background is in finance, commercial, information technology, law, safety, human resources or a number of other fields – you will play an important supporting role in all we do at Imperial.
Learn more about what we do.

I’m a recent graduate

It’s what you learn after you know it all, that counts. Those famous words from legendary basketball coach John Wooden ring true here at Imperial. We keep developing your skills by providing challenges, training, resources, feedback and opportunities to work with top-notch people in your field. The journey of learning begins from the moment of onboarding through to training, mentoring, challenging work and job rotations.

Take it from geological engineering grad, Tyrel, who wanted to do something new and important to Canada. Watch Tyrel talking about his career at Imperial.

"As someone who cares about the environment, what Canadians hold most dear… I think it’s imperative that Imperial remain at the forefront of technology to protect that environment."
Tyrel Sulzer

Geotechnical engineer

Applying for recent grad opportunities:

View job opportunities for recent graduates.

Join us

Campus events

We want to reach out to smart people like you. That’s why we visit campuses across Canada and share upcoming career opportunities. Check back periodically to see upcoming events happening in your area.
See our events

I’m an experienced professional

You are needed. That’s because you bring experience to today’s energy challenges.

Expect a long-term career here with competitive wages, great benefits and training assistance. Take it from Lara Pella – she arrived at Imperial with more than 10 years of legal experience and a hunger for interesting, challenging work.

"It fascinates me that we work on everything that is going on in Canada and the Alberta business world. Public policy issues such as climate change, and acquisitions – I’ve been part of it all. I get to work on cutting edge issues because Imperial is always trail blazing."
Lara Pella

Assistant general counsel

View job opportunities for experienced professionals.

Related content

Flexible work

Balancing work and life, together.

Careers Article

Rewards and benefits

Designed for our employees.

Careers Article

Intern, co-op and apprenticeship opportunities

Turbo charge your learning. Land a work-term at Imperial.

Careers Article

Possibilités de carrière

Plus de secteurs. Plus de défis. Plus d’occasions.

Article

In this article

Possibilités de carrière

Nous avons beaucoup à faire. Nous nous attaquons aux enjeux énergétiques et environnementaux dans l’ensemble du secteur pétrolier et gazier – de l’exploration à l’exploitation, du raffinage à la livraison, en passant par le transport.

Qu’est-ce que cela signifie pour vous? Cela signifie que vous aurez l'occasion d'en apprendre davantage et de façonner le progrès dans de multiples domaines de notre entreprise. Lorsque nous cherchons à résoudre un problème, nous examinons chaque étape de la chaîne pétrolière et gazière. Cela nous permet de faire appel aux diverses opinions et expériences de notre personnel pour produire et innover.

Que vous soyez un nouveau diplômé ou un professionnel chevronné, il existe une occasion de carrière correspondant à vos compétences, à vos intérêts et à vos aspirations professionnelles.

Quel secteur vous convient?

Cadrez-vous avec le secteur amont, médian ou aval? Avez-vous des compétences particulières convenant à tous les secteurs de l’entreprise?

 Exploitation (secteur amont)

Êtes-vous fasciné par l’origine des produits pétroliers et gaziers – les matières premières, les défis, les solutions et les technologies qui permettent d’y parvenir? Une carrière dans le secteur amont vous convient peut-être. C’est le secteur qui s’occupe de l’exploration et de l’exploitation des ressources.

 Transport (secteur médian)

Pour que le pétrole puisse répondre à la demande mondiale, il nous faut le transporter. Êtes-vous intéressé à résoudre les défis que posent le transport et le stockage de ces ressources? Nous comptons 21 dépôts au Canada, qui permettent d’assurer la fiabilité de l’approvisionnement en carburant dans plusieurs régions. Nous avons aussi des pipelines qui fournissent un moyen sûr, respectueux de l’environnement et indispensable d’acheminer le pétrole brut aux raffineries et les produits pétrochimiques raffinés aux consommateurs.

 Raffinage (secteur aval et chimique)

Êtes-vous un peu inventeur, doté d’un esprit curieux et intrigué par l’industrie du raffinage et des produits chimiques ? C’est le secteur qui a le plus d’incidence dans notre quotidien. C’est dans ce secteur que le pétrole devient l’asphalte de la route, le lubrifiant de votre transmission. Et l’essence dans votre voiture. Il permet de créer le plastique de votre Frisbee et de faire décoller les avions. Le secteur aval transforme les matières premières pour en faire les produits sans lesquels le monde moderne n’existerait pas.

 Vente (secteur détail)

Vous connaissez sans doute déjà nos activités de détail. Elles comprennent les lubrifiants Mobil, les stations-service Esso et Mobil de votre localité et même, nos liens de longue date avec le hockey. Même si nous nous sommes défaits de nos stations-service, nous avons toujours des équipes qui s’occupent de vendre des produits aux distributeurs et aux grossistes, de gérer et de commercialiser nos marques de détail (Esso et Mobil) et de superviser nos commandites.

 Recherche (tous les secteurs ci-dessus)

Savoir c’est pouvoir. La diminution des émissions, l’économie d’eau, l’amélioration de la productivité et la protection de l’environnement. Ce sont nos sujets de recherche à L’Impériale. Nous ne faisons pas que subventionner des chercheurs... nous les embauchons, nous les encourageons et nous investissons dans leurs projets. Notre compagnie inspire l’industrie à repousser les frontières de l’excellence opérationnelle grâce à nos laboratoires de recherche à Calgary et à Sarnia, ainsi qu’à notre collaboration avec des organisations de talent et des personnes encore plus douées.

 Soutien

Avez-vous des compétences spécialisées qui soutiennent tous les segments ci-dessus? Que vous ayez une formation en finance, en commerce, en technologie de l'information, en droit, en sécurité, en ressources humaines ou dans un certain nombre d'autres domaines, vous jouerez un rôle de soutien important dans tout ce que nous faisons chez Imperial.
En savoir plus sur ce que nous faisons.

Je suis un nouveau diplômé

Ce qui compte, c’est ce que vous apprenez après que vous savez tout. Ces paroles célèbres de l’entraîneur de basket-ball John Wooden sont particulièrement pertinentes pour L’Impériale. Nous continuons à développer vos compétences en offrant des défis, de la formation, des ressources, des commentaires et des occasions de travailler avec des personnes de haut niveau dans votre domaine. Le parcours d’apprentissage commence à l’intégration, et se poursuit grâce à la formation, au mentorat, aux projets stimulants et aux rotations d’emploi.

Comme l’a dit Grad Tyrel, diplômé en génie géologique, qui voulait faire quelque chose d’original et d’important pour le Canada.

« Vu que je me soucie de l’environnement, de ce que les Canadiens ont de plus précieux... Je pense qu’il est essentiel que L’Impériale reste à la fine pointe de la technologie pour protéger cet environnement. »
Tyler Sulzer

Ingénieur géotechnique

Postuler un emploi pour nouveau diplômé :
Cliquez ici pour afficher les offres d’emploi pour nouveaux diplômés.
Rejoignez-nous

Activités de campus

Nous voulons rencontrer des personnes intelligentes comme vous. C’est pourquoi nous visitons des campus partout au Canada pour faire connaître nos possibilités de carrière. Revenez périodiquement pour savoir quelles activités se déroulent dans votre région.
Voir nos événements

Je suis un professionnel chevronné

Nous avons besoin de vous. Votre expérience fait de vous un atout précieux dans le secteur énergétique d’aujourd’hui.

Vous pouvez prévoir une longue carrière profitant d’une rémunération concurrentielle, d’excellents avantages sociaux et d’occasions de perfectionnement. Écoutez Lara Pella à ce sujet – elle comptait plus de 10 années d’expérience dans le secteur juridique quand elle est arrivée à L’Impériale à la recherche d’un travail intéressant et stimulant.

« Cela me fascine de voir qu’on travaille sur tout ce qui se passe au Canada et dans le milieu des affaires albertain. Les enjeux de politique publique, comme le changement climatique et les acquisitions, m’intéressent aussi. J’ai l’occasion de travailler sur des questions d’actualité, car L’Impériale est toujours une pionnière de l’innovation. »
Lara Pella

Avocat général adjoint

Cliquez ici pour afficher les offres d’emploi pour professionnels chevronnés.

Contenu associé

Travail adaptable

Pour assurer l’équilibre entre le travail et la vie personnelle.

Carrières Article

Occasions d’apprentissage, d’alternance et de stage

Propulsez votre formation. Décrochez un stage à L’Impériale. 

Carrières Article

Récompenses et avantages

Conçus pour nos employés.

Carrières Article

Formation et mentorat

Apprendre sans cesse.

Carrières Article